January 28, 2016

14 Days To Die By: A.B. Whelan Review


(3.5 Stars)


Thank you to NetGalley for allowing me to read and review an ebook copy of 14 Days To Die By: A.B. Whelan.

I have been looking forward to reading 14 Days To Die ever since I saw the summary for it on Goodreads. I am happy to say that I wasn't disappointed! I gave this one 3.5 stars, but it definitely deserves to be rounded up to 4 stars and not down to 3 stars based on enjoyment alone.

14 Days To Die is about a stay at home mom named Sarah who receives a call one day that her husband has put out a hit on her. She has 14 days to either come up with double the money that her husband Mike offered, or he will kill her. Sarah has to figure out a way out of all this, all the while wondering if karma from her past has caught up with her.

This book was intense from the beginning and kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through. It was a very quick and easy read for me since it was so fast-paced. The writing was pretty well done, except there were a few times that I felt it was too repetitive. Also, when we finally got some information on Sarah's past it was a bit underwhelming. I was expecting something more dramatic I guess. I probably would have given this one 5 stars if it wasn't for that. I was pretty disappointed in her past transgressions. Insert eye-roll here.

I think part of the reason that I enjoyed this book so much is that as a housewife myself I found 14 Days To Die to be a little terrifying. Well not in the traditional manner, but if I think too hard about it. The whole "What if this happened to me?" thing. Which I'm still trying to not think about fully. Because even though it's ludicrous that my husband would ever hire a hit-man to kill me, there are other things in this book that I think most married women worry about. It's just a small leap to hiring a hit-man from there. Eep.

Overall 14 Days To Die is a pretty great, but not perfect psychological thriller. I enjoyed it quite a bit and I'm glad that it (mostly) lived up to my expectations. It's worth the read for sure!

I would recommend 14 Days To Die for fans of Gone Girl, Girl on the Train, and anyone looking for a good psychological thriller.






17 comments:

  1. This looks so good so I'm relieved that you loved it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. ME TOO. Haha! I was so worried that this one would be a big letdown, but it wasn't. :D

      Delete
  2. Oh my! I loved Gone Girl and to be honest, that was the first adult book I read. I'm so looking forward to it! Thanks for your recommendation!
    Have a nice day!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's amazing! If/when you read this one I hope you love it. :D You have a great day too Lis. :)

      Delete
  3. Wow what a premise...you have me curious about what unfolds. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! It's definitely worth the read. :D

      Delete
  4. I could totally see this as a Lifetime movie! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes Lekeisha!!!! Now that you say that I could definitely see that. It would be perfect for Lifetime.

      Delete
  5. Great review! I have been wanting something super thrilling so going to give this one a try!!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ooo. I'm happy to see that this novel did not disappoint you too much! 3.5 stars is not bad. I've not heard of it - it's likely not one for me BUT I'm glad you enjoyed it. Lovely review, Erin! :)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. True. 3.5 isn't bad at all! It was pretty good, but not perfect. Very enjoyable though. Thanks!

      Delete
  7. I enjoy psychological thrillers as well, and this one sounds really good despite not being perfect. I'll definitely look into this one. It's a shame about the post not being that dramatic though. I would have expected it too to be honest.
    Great review! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right? I really thought it was going to be some big shocker, but it really wasn't.

      Delete
  8. I really like the sound of this. I'm going to look for it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was pretty good! I hope you enjoy it if/when you read it. :D

      Delete

Thank you for visiting my blog! I read every comment and reply back to all of them. I also try very hard to be sure and comment back on your blog as well.